top of page

What is an Instructional Coach?

“ I am first a teacher. My job hasn’t changed, but my audience has. Now I teach teachers to use strategies and routines. My job is still to impact kids, but now I do it by helping teachers be as focused and effective as they can be." - Devona Dunekack

Hi FamiLEE!

My name is Jacque Johnson and I will be Lee's Instructional Coach this year. I couldn't be more excited to be in this role. What is this role, some of you may ask? An instructional coach is a partner, mentor, and designer. If we aren't taking risks and challenging ourselves, we are not growing as educators. My job is to ENCOURAGE those risks and be your PARTNER along the way to achieve those challenges; because ultimately it will result in student achievement. Which is all of our's priority goal.

I plan to be a "dog-type" Instructional coach....

And not a "cat-type" Instructional Coach...

Hopefully, you want the sweet and encouraging dog type of IC. :)

As your partner, I am looking forward to collaborating, planning, researching best instructional practices, and being in team time with you.

As your mentor, I am looking forward to supporting, setting goals, co-teaching, strengthening your teaching style, and taking risks with you.

As your designer, I am looking forward to presenting professional learning, developing lesson designs, and analyzing students standards with you.

Instructional Coaches are not evaluators. I will never come into your space with judgement. I am not an expert teacher, I am not an instant problem solver and plan to walk alongside you to solve the problem. My role is confidential. I plan to work with you one-on-one and during team time. Private conversations will not leave those meetings.

I cannot wait to get to know each of you and learn the amazing things you all are doing in your spaces for your learners. The best professional learning is learning from each other; my hope is to show off all the amazing things you all are doing in your spaces for your learners. It is going to be a loveLEE year!


bottom of page