top of page

April is National Poetry Month

Good Morning, FamiLEE!

Can you believe Monday is APRIL 1st?! April is National Poetry Month. I wanted to share out a few ideas you could tweak and incorporate into your day. Please invite me in to do any of these learning experiences.

Apple Creation using Poems

Last week during our faculty meeting, we went through the Elements of Learning book. I modified one of the exemplar lessons to focus on poetry:

Have your learners research famous poems and have them identify the elements of the poem on Notes. Then, have them create a modern day version of the poem. Once they have written their poem, have them select an app to design media that will accompany their poem. Consider music or visuals to communicate their poem. Learners will submit their products on a class Keynote Presentation and present their poem to an audience. Please invite me in to do this with your class!

Poetry Menu

I came across this on Twitter - - Learners work on a poetry menu while you host your reading conferences. Make a copy and tweak for your class! Click here for the menu.

Poetry Talks

Start Poetry Talks in your space! This is a five day ~10 minute lesson analyzing a poem. I would love to come kick off this fun engaging Poetry Talks lesson in your space if you are interested!

Create a Poem for Mother's Day!

Mother's Day is right around the corner, one idea is to create a poem and save it for a present for Mother's Day!

Enjoy National Poetry Month!

As always, if there is anything I can do to support- please let me know!

- Jacque


bottom of page